Disease, Disorders, Injury and Repair

Injury and repair

Samit Chakrabarty – Plasticity of motor control in stroke, spinal cord injury, cerebral palsy, Parkinson’s disease

Dr Sue Deuchars –  Regeneration of spinal cord by modulation of endogenous stem cells

Dr Ronaldo Ichiyama – Neurodegenerative changes following spinal cord injury

Dr Lorna Dougan – Biomechanics, biophysics

Dr Jessica Kwok – Enhancing plasticity for recovery in spinal cord injury & neurodegenerative diseases

Dr Sarah Astill – Motor Learning & Control, Upper Limb Rehabilitation

Disease of the Nervous System

Dr Rene Frank – In situ structures of Alzheimer’s disease

Dr Eric Hewitt – Cell biology and immunology of amyloid disease

Prof Sheena Radford – Amyloidogenic diseases, mechanisms of protein folding and misfolding

Prof Chris Inglehearn – Understanding the causes of human visual defects

Dr Glenn McConkey – Parasitic infections contribute to neurodegenerative disorders

Dr Sikha Saha – Cerebrovascular Diseases; Stroke Biology and Mechanisms

Dr Ian Wood – The role of HDACs in neurodegenerative conditions

Dr Lin Hua Jiang – Molecular mechanisms of ion channels in health and disease

Dr Patricija van Oosten-Hawle – Transcellular Chaperone Signalling and neurodegenerative disease

Dr Paul Meakin – Neurovascular disease, Alzheimer’s disease

Neurogenetic disorders

Dr Steven Clapcote – Genetic basis of neurological and psychiatric disorder

Dr Sandra Bell – Genetic basis of microcephaly

Dr Jacquie Bond – Genetic basis of microcephaly

Prof Colin Johnson – Inherited retinal dystrophies

Prof Chris Inglehearn – Vision, inherited blindness, schizophrenia & intellectual disability research

Brain Cancer research

Dr Mihaela Lorger – brain metastases

Dr Lucy Stead– Neuro-Oncology, Cancer genomics, Cancer transcriptomics

Professor Susan Short – Treatment of adult brain tumours, glioma biology

Dr Heiko Wurdak– Stem cells; cancer biology; brain tumours

Dr Georgia Mavria – Brain metastasis, brain tumours

Dr Laura Matthews – Brain cancer

Dr Adel Samson

Dr Florien Boele